Nant Ffrancon Jaunt


Hey folks

A brief weather window yesterday allowed me to get out for a 10.3 mile run along one of my favourite routes directly from the house. It follows up the historic route of the A5 road and then turns right past Idwal Cottage after I pass over Pont Pen y Benglog, and then steeply downhill back down the valley on its western side along the ‘old’ road. I then join the cycle track along Lon Las Cymru that winds its way around the edge of Penrhyn quarry. Of course, if you’re not local, you’ll have no idea where I’m talking about! πŸ˜‰ This is all within the northern edge of Snowdonia National Park, where I am lucky enough to live (although at the moment, the weather is more pertinent if you’re a duck in a wetsuit). If you’d like to see the mapped route on Strava, then please follow this link.

You may have noticed that I have altered the appearance of the font to something sans-serif, as I want the text to be clearer to read and slightly more modern looking. I am also toying with the idea of changing the look of the blog so mobile device users will find it easier to view, especially as my posts usually feature a lot of images and the theme currently is a bit ‘in your face’, but as I can’t even decide whether I want a cup of tea or not lately, I’ll leave it for now.

So anyway. I’m pleased to say that I appear to be getting my running mojo back, although today I never ran as a) the weather was disgusting and b) we had a friend over who didn’t fancy the run either. Instead we did something far more conducive to relaxation and had hot drinks and cake at one of our favourite, local establishments, the wonderful Lodge Dinorwic, in er, Dinorwic. I should point out here that the view is normally stunning from there, as per the website homepage, but as the car doors were nearly blown off as we exited said vehicle, we rushed inside. It’s a fantastic place, really friendly and you will always receive a welcoming smile and great food and drink from the proprietors Sonni and Simon. We love local, so we always endeavour to keep it that way so please pay them a visit if you’re ever in the area. They’re also on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Well, naturally I took a few pics yesterday, so here they all are with a description under each. Please note that the majority of images are shot on my mobile phone, currently the excellent LG G3 (purchased due to its brilliant camera) so all shots are JPEG so not always the best quality. I make minor adjustments in Lightroom and Photoshop and then export at 72dpi for viewing on a screen only. (Please click on the image for a larger version) Enjoy πŸ™‚

Just leaving the village and entering the beautiful Nant Ffrancon. A view I NEVER get bored of!
Just leaving the village and entering the beautiful Nant Ffrancon. A view I NEVER get bored of!
Portrait shot from the road looking directly to the Glyderau mountains, over 1,000 metres.
Portrait shot from the road looking directly to the Glyderau mountains, over 1,000 metres.
The view to the 947 metre Y Garn, from Pont Pen y Benglog; beautiful colours.
The view to the 947 metre Y Garn, from Pont Pen y Benglog; beautiful colours.
On the old road now looking back north down the valley. On a clearer day, Anglesey would be below the cloud in the distance.
On the old road now looking back north down the valley. On a clearer day, Anglesey would be below the cloud in the distance.
Don't often see Welsh mountain ponies up here; usually scary black cows! The 978 metre Pen yr Ole Wen, rear, with its false summit peak.
Don’t often see Welsh mountain ponies up here; usually scary black cows! The 978 metre Pen yr Ole Wen, rear, with its false summit peak.
Identical to previous image, with grain added and a little sepia.
Identical to previous image, with grain added and a little sepia.
A panorama, consisting of eight portrait shots from one end of the valley to the other. Tryfan at 915 metres in in the right-third. Beautiful in any weather.
A panorama, consisting of eight portrait shots from one end of the valley to the other. Tryfan at 915 metres in in the right-third. Beautiful in any weather. I wanted to get the centre of the road in, but it’s not possible really due to the terrain behind me and my lens not being wide enough.
Yours truly, feeling very happy to be out :)
Yours truly, feeling very happy to be out πŸ™‚
Last image from roughly two thirds of the way down the valley, looking back south-south-east.
Last image from roughly two thirds of the way down the valley, looking back south-south-east.
6 thoughts on “Nant Ffrancon Jaunt

  1. My old stomping ground in the 60s/70s. I was climbing, camping, hill walking, hitchhiking & motor cycling. Great pics, bringing back memories, thanks. Would love to go back on a bike now.

  2. Really WoW! imagery. Well done in going out and sharing these beauties with us plus the useful info.
    I agree with you about the current layout, despite having been created by the WordPress people with photography in mind I think it is a bit OTT (over the top/on “your face” as you said).
    Hey, that’s a nice challenge for you: to play with layouts and choose a fresh one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

