Skipping Over The River


Ogwen Tributary
Ogwen Tributary – WARNING: HUGE IMAGE!

The above image I captured this evening as I decided to do some camera work in my local wood, just over the River Ogwen; it’s literally a stone’s throw from the house. I took a lot more images than this, but I wanted to get this one process and at least posted for now.

It is the result of nine portrait exposures, stitched in Photoshop. There’s something I don’t like about it though and I’m not sure what. The image seems a bit ‘muddy’ and also has a HDR look about it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a big fan of HDR work, some of which I’ll be posting some time tomorrow from this little jaunt, but it appears this way, unintentionally. I did adjust the shadows and mid-tones a very small amount in PS, but only to pull the exposure up a little on the left of the shot. I added some clarity in Lightroom, as I always do, but I never go mad with this as I don’t want to re-introduce noise. I used a different sharpening technique this time for a change, and used high pass at around 3.5 pixels radius. It’s not a poor image by any standards, but you know when you just don’t like something?

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to get across these rocks for ages as usually, or at least over winter and early spring, this treacherous stretch of tributary is absolutely bursting and there is no way you could ever get across, as only the highest rocks (that I am stood on) are visible. It’s clear from the amount of moss and dark lichen that this is usually a continuously wet place to set up home if you are a bryophyte! This is however, my favourite little spot in the entire wood, as when the river is at winter/early spring levels, it is very impressive.

Anyhow, I’ll leave you good people with that for now. I’ve got a ton of editing to do from this evening, but it’s late now so I’m off.

But to make a cup of tea πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Skipping Over The River

  1. Great scenery and colours. Green moss is my favourite green, when surrounded by water, even better πŸ™‚

    By the way, you changed your theme…. why?! 😦 The other one was so perfect for your photography and text, Just a thought… πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚

      I think I over edited it now, to be honest. I’ve done the rest from the evening the majority being HDR which I’ll post tomorrow.

      I wanted a little more colour (it’s still not how I want it, until I pay to customise it fully) and I always seem to go for conservative designs; I wanted something with a bit more punch and I really like the font. Eventually, I will set up WordPress entirely myself on a server.

      But thank you for the great feedback πŸ™‚

      1. You’re welcome! πŸ™‚

        I think one of the “problems” with free themes is that there isn’t one that tick all the boxes for what one desires for a blog, even with all the available customizations. I tried many themes before I ended up with my current one (the “2014”) and still not 100%happy. But I’m not prepared to pay extra, at least at the moment.

        As a suggestion, I think you should go for a theme where both imagery and text take great “WoW factor” from the layout as both your photography and writing are… wow! πŸ™‚

      2. I have to agree with you there; it’s quite limiting if you don’t pay the $17.00 per year fee; although it isn’t much, so I may do it soon as I can justify it.

        I just want a clean, modern style without clutter on the page and a little colour πŸ™‚

      3. I think your aim is achievable and right: clean, modern, uncluttered and a bit of colour. Have you seen the two new ones that came out today: Pictorio and Designfolio? The first one is free. Check out the WordPress Themes page.

Leave a Reply

