Room With A View


Hi guys

Just a quick one today.

I took a shot from my ‘study window’ yesterday. I always wanted to do this, but the cables generally ruined the image for me, and the view, it has to be said. But since I’ve started to use the Content Aware tool in Photoshop, I’ve become a lot more confident shooting areas that I wouldn’t normally. Obviously, this tool doesn’t work well on all images, but shots like this it works very well.

So, the first image is straight from camera and as you can see, isn’t particularly exciting:

Original shot, no adjustments. Signature is only on it as exported from Lightroom as JPEG
Original shot, no adjustments. Signature is only on it as exported from Lightroom as JPEG

The second image however, I have removed the cables, cropped and used the ruler tool to straighten as to be honest, I was laid on the bed when I took it. I haven’t removed spots that were on the window, that you can see on the left of the shot. It is already an improvement over the original:

After a few adjustments, but nothing else.
After a few adjustments, but nothing else.

The final image I wanted to make it look completely different, so I did a little editing in Topaz Adjust and carried out some actions in Photoshop to give it the sunglow, edge glow, vignette and the colour change, known as ‘Troy’. I initially used an action that gave it that ‘300‘ look, but it was too aggressive.

The building is the Village Hall, with the woods of Coed Meurig immediately behind. Beyond is the Penrhyn Slate Quarry. Mountain in the foreground is known as ‘Carnedd y Filiast North Top‘ but to honest, it has its own name and prominence and the name of ‘Y Fronllwydd’ at 721 metres. The flat plateau on the right is Elidir Fach at 795 metres with its big brother of Elidir Fawr, rising up to 923 metres. The prominent peak on the left is Carnedd y Filiast at 821 metres.

So, it’s nice to have the views that I have, no matter what window I look out of 🙂

The same image with an 'Orton' type effect.
The same image with an ‘Orton’ type effect.

Right, I’d best be off as I have to meet my wife.

Elton

Leave a Reply

