Nant Ffrancon Views


Yesterday I went for a little spin on one of my local routes. Well, ‘little’ to me being 31 miles. I was supposed to take it easy but I ended up going faster than I wanted to.

The route starts in my village, up into the fertile Nant Ffrancon valley and from there heads south east through the ever changing Ogwen valley with its beautiful vistas in any direction, with the Glyderau on one side and the Carneddau on the other. After reaching Capel Curig, I head west into the wind through Dyffryn Mymbyr with views towards the Snowdon Massif, to climb up to Pen y Pass and the fun descent through the tight, enclosing walls of the Llanberis Pass.

For a change though, I wanted to go up the old, often rough road to the top of Nant Ffrancon, simply so that I could take the following pictures. I much prefer this road as there’s no vehicles (not that the main climb up is busy) and I love looking at the sweeping, ascending northerly arm of Pen yr Ole Wen that is Braich ty Du (some great scrambles on here). This road tends to stay a lot flatter than the main road, due to the nature of the valley. When Thomas Telford built the A5 between London and Holyhead, he designed it so that the gradient was no more than 1 in 14, so that horse drawn carriages could navigate it with ease. But the road I used rises very steeply at the end, just to test my legs.

Anyway, there are four images, each taken with my Fuji point-n-click, so not a lot of highlight detail was recoverable (and by that I mean the very bright white parts of the images). All are panoramas, stitched together from 8 – 10 portrait exposures, snapped within one minuteĀ so my legs didn’t cool down!

Thanks for reading and looking.

Nant Ffrancon as it starts to open out at its northern end, with Braich ty Du opposite. This route is also  a part of the Welsh National Cycle Network, in this case, Lon Las Ogwen. Dissapointed that I couldn't get my bike in fully, so it has been mostly cropped out.
Nant Ffrancon as it starts to open out at its northern end, with Braich ty Du opposite. This route is also a part of the Welsh National Cycle Network, in this case, Lon Las Ogwen. Disappointed that I couldn’t get my bike in fully due to the position of where I took the shot, so it has been mostly cropped out.
Looking over towards Pen yr Ole Wen with Tryfan peaking up on the right.
Looking over towards Pen yr Ole Wen with Tryfan peaking up on the right.
Full pan of Nant Ffrancon, back down the way I came and up towards Pen y Benglog. Pen yr Ole Wen appears more of a peak now, but this is a false summit at it has a flat plateau top at 978m/3,209ft. Tryfan and Glyder Fach, right. Ten images stitched.
Full pan of Nant Ffrancon, back down the way I came and up towards Pen y Benglog. Pen yr Ole Wen appears more of a peak now, but in fact, this is a false summit at it has a flat plateau top at 978m/3,209ft. Tryfan and Glyder Fach, right. You can easily make out the unnatural line of the A5. Ten images stitched.
Looking north now, all the way back down the valley; you can see how flat its base is now and why it's good for farming. Pen yr Ole Wen is even more pronounced from here, with Foel Goch on the left. I knew this would be a very tight crop, as I didn't want the road in the image, so the peak only just fits in. Around 300 metres from here I rejoin the A5.
Looking north now, all the way back down the valley; you can see how flat its base is now and why it’s good for farming. Pen yr Ole Wen is even more pronounced from here, with Foel Goch on the left. I knew this would be a very tight crop, as I didn’t want the road in the image, so the peak only just fits in. Around 300 metres from here I rejoin the A5.
Leave a Reply

