Moel Famau Before The Storms


Well I’ve had to get out of bed as I am unable to sleep, so I will post what I was meant to post earlier on today.

Like most of the western half of the UK lately, we’ve been battered by storm force winds and rain. North Wales has been no exception. Hurricane ‘Tini’ was sitting out in the Irish Sea, twisting her way slowly north eastwards and wreaking havoc wherever she touched down with her force twelve breath. We had wind speeds of 108 mph here in fact and on that same night, most of North West Wales and North East Wales was hit by a large power cut, a total black-out, leaving almost 75,000 homes in the dark with not even enough power to make a cuppa; well, you know us Brits, we like to make tea in times of adversity! I actually thought that this was funny, as my father in law (who is fantastic, by the way) called literally 10 minutes before this occurred to see how we were coping and I said everything was OK. I’m good at cursing things like that, must be my self-destructive streak! The power in my village went off at 18:20 and was back on at 23:35; I sat in the dark reading a book (wearing a head-torch, of course; my eye sight isn’t that good) and freezing my giblets off. The dog also barked at one point without growling first which almost gave me heart failure. I did ponder driving up onto the hill to over 1,000 feet to get a large scale view across the area, to see what she looked like in a black-out. Er, black I guess. Probably not the best idea anyway, as my little Peugeot and I would probably have been blown into the sea, which is about eight miles away.I also imagined that when the electricity did come back, that there’d be a HUGE spike across the grid, as thousands of people fired up their kettles to make that cuppa! I know I did 🙂

Anyway, prior to this happening, during a lull in the plethora of storms we have had so far this winter, we had quite a nice but bitterly cold day, so I took this opportunity to walk up a small mountain called Moel Famau in the Clwydian range of hills on the border of Denbighshire and Flintshire with my wife. It’s only really a pimple at 552 metres/1,818 feet, but it’s the furthest mountain east that I have ascended since living in Wales and it also affords beautiful views in all directions, even back to the snow capped peaks of the Carneddau mountains, thirty miles due west. It was actually a very nice day, with sun streaming down through the trees as we made our way along the path from Loggerheads. The circuit was around 7 miles and took us around 3 hours. The top of Moel Famau had a little snow and it’s the first I’ve trodden on this winter, which is a sad state of affairs really (we hope to get out on the Glyders this weekend for some ‘proper’ snow).

So, here’s the images I shot from the walk, posted in the order they were taken. It’s a nice little walk, I highly recommend it if you don’t fancy doing anything epic.

Thanks for looking and reading.

Elt

Leave a Reply

