Some absence…


The view across Dyffryn Ogwen from Tryfan Bach.
The view across Dyffryn Ogwen from Tryfan Bach.

Hello readers

As I have been thrown back into (by choice, I may add) the world of full-time further education, I may have less time to get out and snap as much as I’d like for the blog. However, I hope being at college will not stop me, because it is still only the very beginnings of Autumn (or Fall for our friends across the pond) thus there will be enough light left for me to play out of an evening for another month yet. And already, the light here on most evenings has been stunning, but I have not been able to get out; it was good tonight, but I was training with mountain rescue, so only managed to get one or two silhouette shots of the valley. It’s not a brilliant shot by any means, as I don’t take many of these; naturally I turned down the exposure in post-processing, this effected the sky so I added a gradient to this to increase it back without resorting to playing around with layers for the sky and land. I also added quite a lot of masking due to the level of noise in the sky originally, so it is not as detailed as I would have like; I guess it’s a trade-off when taking late evening shots – I’d rather have less noise personally.

Tryfan and Y Garn silhouetted as the sun sets with the west end of Llyn Ogwen visible.
Tryfan and Y Garn silhouetted as the sun sets with the west end of Llyn Ogwen visible.

I also wanted to add the below shot that I was meant to upload the other day. It’s a shot of my feet, looking directly down the centre of Nant Ffrancon. It’s not really discernible in this image, but in the distance, right in the very centre of where you’d imagine the vanishing point to run, is Penrhyn Castle. It’s amazing that it was built in such a position to look directly up the valley from just outside Bangor, the small city nearest to my village, Bethesda. Anyway, I’m quite fond of the shot as it summed up a great afternoon of climbing.

Sausalito View
Sausalito View

Well, I will bid you good night for now. I hope to get out tomorrow after college for a hill-walk up perhaps Y Garn, so will hopefully have some images for you then.

Nos dawch, pawb.

Elton

Leave a Reply

